Set Up a Locked Folder in Google Photos: In this article, we will show you the simple steps on How to Hide Your Pictures in Google Photos by setting up a locked folder.
How to Hide Your Pictures in Google Photos: Looking for a way to lock your photos from others seeing them in Google Photos? you can use the app’s native Locked Folder feature in your phone. this lets you hide your pictures and videos in a passcode-protected space. With this, your media content can be kept hidden when someone looks at the photos and videos saved on Google Photos or any other app on your phone. You can also create a locked folder and move your existing pictures to it in Google Photos to protect them with your device’s screen lock.
Google photos Locked Folder was originally developed as a feature exclusive to Google Pixel phones. This will be available to all Android users in the coming future and all iOS users early next year.
The hidden pictures in the locked folder will not appear in the Google Photos grid, memories, search, or albums. You will also not be able to find them in any other installed apps that have access to your regular photos and videos.
How To Set Up Locked Folder And Hide Your Pictures In Google Photos
- Open Google Photos.
- Go to Library > Utilities and then tap Set up Locked Folder.
- Google Photos will now show you a screen to detail the characteristics of the Locked Folder feature. Tap Set up Locked Folder to proceed.
- Now, use your current device’s screen lock option, which can either be fingerprint unlock, pattern, alphanumeric password, or numeric PIN to set up the locked folder.
- Once you are done with the setup, you can move your existing pictures and videos to the locked folder by tapping the Move items option.
- Select pictures you want to move to the locked photos, a prompt message will come up highlighting that the items moved will no longer be backed up or shared and will not appear in your Google Photos grid, search, and other apps. You can proceed with your selection by selecting Move or Not to move them.
Note: Pictures hidden in the locked folder will not be backed up or shared via Google Photos. And people who have access to unlock your device’s screen can unlock the locked folder on the app and view the hidden media files.